Rurouni Kenshin: Hokkaido arc?!

So now it has turned out that the two-chapters Rurouni Kenshin spin-off that was published in Jump SQ this autumn/winter … was actually a prologue to an upcoming Rurouni Kenshin sequel, or continuation – whatever you call it. It is going to be the Hokkaido arc, a storyline that Nobuhiro Watsuki had considered doing after the Jinchu arc. He didn’t do it, but ended Rurouni Kenshin after Jinchu. It was a good choice, because there didn’t seem to be anything left to do with the character of Kenshin – he had faced the demons of his past, worked through his issues and finally found peace of mind and a place to call home. It was a good point to end the manga.

Frankly, I really don’t need a sequel – at least not for Kenshin’s sake. His story ended with a beautiful happy ending. However, there are still a number of characters who might have an interesting road ahead of them. It is promising to see Soujirou on the teaser image for the Hokkaidou Arc. I guess I kind of hope that Kenshin won’t appear at all in this story. ;)

Overall, I am a little torn. I have been following Nobuhiro Watsuki’s works for many years, and there is a part of me that doesn’t want him to go back to Kenshin, a part that wants him to keep coming up with new stories and characters and settings, and move forward, never back. On the other hand … well, I obviouly like Rurouni Kenshin and I do want to see these characters again! Plus, I like it when people don’t abandon old ideas, and in this sense, it is really satisfying that the Hokkaido Arc is finally going to become reality after all.

And now … we wait.

Source: AnimeNewsNetwork

 

2 thoughts on “Rurouni Kenshin: Hokkaido arc?!

  1. I agree with you that Kenshin’s story has ended. I imagine a sequel would be about Yahiko finding his own way in the new world, helped by the Kamiya style and his imitations of Hiten Mitsurugi. If it must have Kenshin, have him only be as a mentor that has stepped down from fighting. And now, since I didn’t notice this spinoff prologue, I’ll have to make time to read it soon!

    • I thought about this some more, and it occured to me that I’d really like to have an ensemble cast. No single protagonist, but different main characters with their own stories, who cross paths … Watsuki already did this in Embalming, so he might do it again.

Leave a Reply

