Merry christmas!

Yesterday, I played a tiny little bit of Bravely Default. I think I have only about two hours of playtime so far, so it’s way too early to make any statements about the game, other than that it is cute, the graphics somehow take me way back and I am enjoying levelling up.

What I did yesterday was switching the voice acting from English to Japanese. And I … suddenly like the characters a lot more. So I kind of recommend this to anybody who finds themselves thinking that English Agnès sounds more like a five-year-old with low self-esteem rather than a hero on a world-saving quest.

Funnily, I did not mind the voice-acting in Ace Attorney: Dual Destinies, even though I don’t think there were any voices that I really liked. Or perhaps it was the intonation that I disliked? But they were limited to the cutscenes, which were more like extras anyway, more about the visuals than about the contribution they made to the story. (This isn’t a complaint.) I don’t understand the people who complain about the voice-acting or the chosen voice-actors as if it was in any way an important issue that seriously impacted the game. All the most dramatic, imporant scenes and dialogues aren’t voice-acted. And the dialogues themselves were very well-written, I think. I can excuse the occasional typo as long as the tone and the emotions of the characters come across!

(I have especially little patience for the people who complain that Klavier doesn’t speak with a German accent for his … one? … line in a cutscene. I don’t see this as a problem at all – au contraire! – and I was actually pleasantly surprised that he did not pronounce the German word with an English accent. I guess I prefer bilingual characters to speak two languages well instead of two languages awkwardly.)

I am taking my time with Bravely Default. I am not completely used to the battle system yet, which I’m trying to balance out by levelling up in order to lower the difficulty of battles, haha. This won’t work in the long run, so I hope I figure out the finer nuances quickly. To be honest, I don’t have much patience for tutorials, so I did not pay much attention then. I’ll learn.

3 thoughts on “Merry christmas!

Leave a Reply

