Dracaena Drama!

… Yeah, I don’t want this to be a plant blog, but just minutes after submitting the previous post about the philodendron, I went to have a look at my dracaena marginata. To my surprise, it had two yellow leaves! What was going on?! The soil was wettish. Did I overwater it? Eh, probably, since that’s the easiest way to murder houseplants. The trunk looked perfectly fine, but when I touched it and pressed down slightly … it was soft. It felt hollow under the perfect outer layer. Fuck! Trunk rot.

After a brief Google emergency search, I ended up on Plants Are The Strangest People (which is my favourite plant-related blog, both entertaining and informative!) and decidede to take the advice of cutting off the dracaena heads, put them in water and attempt rooting. :/

Nasty: When I examined the trunk further to see how far up the damage went, I made a sort of rubbing movement and rubbed off the bark by accident. Aaaaaaahhhh!! Underneath, the trunk felt and looked exactly like an avocado. Mushy and green with soft yellow. I cannot say it stunk, but it also did not smell nice. To be honest, the whole affair mildly disgusted me. After snipping off the plant’s four heads, I dumped the pitiful rest in the trash.

Ugh. I am not sure if this is going to work. I only tried rooting a dracaena marginata head once. Back then, it took literally months and resulted in a single, long root. The plant did not survive planting for very long, although I cannot remember why. Granted, this had ben during winter months, but it felt like a gigantic failure – considering everyone always talks about how easy it is to propegate dracaena marginata, how quick they are to grow new heads and so forth. My dracaena marginatas have known nothing but horror and pain. Let’s hope the four heads will break that curse.

Leave a Reply

