Books, books, books.

Today, I cannot coordinate my thoughts. I did do something extraordinary, buy The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith Joanne K. Rowling. I did not read The Casual Vacancy because I did not care for the genre and did not feel like reading an entire book just so I could say that I had read JKR’s latest. But murder mysteries are OK. Actually, there are so many of them that I end up reading very few because I don’t know which book to pick out of the many thousands to choose from. That’s kind of funny, when you think about it. So, thank you, JKR, for making things easy.

The last murder mysteries I read were Alan Bradley’s Flavia de Luce series. I hesitated when I bought the first book, because I was going on nothing but an impression that this book with its quirky title and interesting choice of protagonist could be fun.

The same idea had previously caused me to buy the first of Gyles Brandreth’s Oscar Wilde mystery novel, which I found just staggeringly awful and did not finish. I did peek at the ending and have since been trying to figure out whether the author is homophobic or just not that good a writer/plotter. I remain unsure – but very grumpy.

However, Alan Bradley’s novels about a very weird little girl solving crimes in the English countryside, set in the 1950’s, proved worthy of my time and money. The sixth book is scheduled for 2014! Good.

Hmm … I also made several attempts to read French murder mysteries, in French, but my language skills have proved insufficient for Fred Vargas’ prose. Maybe one day. I have one other French crime novel, but I would have to get up and locate it before I could tell you title or author. It’s probably as dull and passionless as a book can possibly be. Did not hook me. Did not use a hook. Probably does not know what a hook is. Possibly written by robots.

At least bad books make me feel better about my own writing. :)

Leave a Reply

